top of page

All About Chakras

What are Chakras?

“Chakra” is an ancient Sanskrit term for “wheel,” meaning a vortex of our body’s energy system. There are seven main chakras, each with its own purpose and each dedicated to a part of the body. It is believed that when all chakras are aligned, energy can properly flow throughout the body, improving physical and mental health. This article will expand on each of the seven main chakras and how to align them.

Root Chakra

What Color? Red

Where? Base of spine

Purpose? Grounding, security, basic survival needs

Activities for Alignment? Exercise, walking barefoot

Yoga Poses for Alignment? triangle pose, warrior 1 ppse, tree pose, forward fold

Foods for Alignment? Tomatoes, onions, strawberries, paprika, cayenne

Pelvic (Sacral) Chakra

What Color? Orange

Where? Lower abdomen

Purpose? Self-worth, sexuality, joy

Activities for Alignment? Spend time near water, pelvic-focused exercises, dancing

Yoga Poses for Alignment? Bridge pose, low lunge, camel pose

Foods for Alignment? Carrots, oranges, sweet potatoes, fennel, vanilla

Navel (Solar Plexus) Chakra

What Color? Yellow

Where? Upper abdomen

Purpose? Digestion, ego, impulse

Activities for Alignment? Hooping, dancing

Yoga Poses for Alignment? Cat/Cow pose, chair pose, boat pose

Foods for Alignment? Ginger, turmeric, grains, bananas

Heart Chakra

What Color? Green

Where? Middle of chest over heart

Purpose? Compassion, spirituality

Activities for Alignment? Swimming, hugging

Yoga Poses for Alignment? Cobra pose, wheel, bow pose

Foods for Alignment? Green leafy vegetables, basil, sage, thyme, parsley

Throat Chakra

What Color? Blue

Purpose? Communication, emotion

Activities for Alignment? Singing, gargling, chanting

Yoga Poses for Alignment? Fish pose, camel pose, plow pose

Foods for Alignment? Peppermint, salt, lemongrass, seaweed, soups

Third Eye Chakra

What Color? Purple

Where? Between & just above the eyes

Purpose? Imagination, wisdom

Activities for Alignment? Visualization, manifestation

Yoga Poses for Alignment? Downward-facing dog, child’s pose, warrior

Foods for Alignment? Rosemary, lavender, poppy seed, caffeine, wine, grape juice

Crown Chakra

What color? Indigo

Where? Top/crown of head

Purpose? Spirituality, psychic matters

Activities for Alignment? Prayer, meditation

Yoga Poses for Alignment? Lotus pose, headstand, savasana (corpse pose)

Foods for Alignment? Fasting, incense, smudging

Don't forget, Good Juju is having a 7-week series where we will touch on a new chakra each week during classes leading up to a workshop where we will dive deep into the chakras. Find out which Chakra needs aligning and how to balance it in our 7-week series.

Good Juju Mind Body Studio | 245 N Cass Avenue, Westmont, IL |


46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page